Select Page

When you own rental property, dealing with tenants is part of the job description. While some landlords contract with a property management company, others opt to preserve their bottom line by conducting these tasks themselves.

Before deciding to manage your own properties, explore the answers to these common questions about tenant issues in Florida.

How much can I charge for a security deposit?

Unlike many other states, Florida does not limit the amount of a security deposit. However, some cities and counties have their own security deposit thresholds, so check with your municipality. Landlords must return the deposit minus the cost of damages within 60 days of the end of the lease after giving written notice of damages within 30 days. If the tenant did not cause damage, the landlord must return the deposit in full within 15 days.

When can I inspect the property?

Florida tenants have the right to peacefully enjoy the rental home without unexpected visits. You must give tenants at least 12 hours notice before inspecting the property or showing it to potential buyers or future renters. You must also visit during a reasonable time, defined by law as between 7:30 a.m. and 8 p.m.

What happens if the tenant does not pay rent?

When rent goes unpaid, you must give the tenant written notice that he or she must either pay rent or vacate the property within three business days (not counting legal holidays and weekends). If the tenant fails to do so, you can begin legal eviction proceedings.

File a lawsuit against the tenant in county court. He or she will receive a summons requiring rent payment or leaving the unit by a specified deadline. If the tenant does not comply, the sheriff will issue a writ of possession to complete the physical eviction within 24 hours.

If you are a new landlord, you must ensure that you comply with Florida laws protecting tenant rights. By the same token, the law provides recourse when the tenant fails to comply with the rental agreement.